Tuesday, March 16, 2010

International Temple Mount Awareness Day

"This month shall be to you the head of the months; to you it shall be the first of the months of the year." (Exodus 12:2)


It was on this day, Rosh Chodesh, the first day of the month of Nisan that the creator of the world, the G-d of Israel, conferred upon His children the ability and the responsibility to make change in the world, to perfect His creation. And it was on this day, one year later, that the Tabernacle was dedicated in the desert. The Holy Temple is the very jewel in the crown of G-d's creation, yet today the Temple Mount is desolate. The Holy Temple lies in ruins, and the Moslem Wakf has commandeered the Temple Mount, forbidding all but Moslems to approach the Mount freely and to raise their voices in prayer to G-d.
The Temple Institute has, along with other organizations, declared today, March 16, 2010, the first day of the month of Nisan, the month of our redemption from Egypt and the month of our future redemption, to be THE FIRST ANNUAL INTERNATIONAL TEMPLE MOUNT AWARENESS DAY. We have called upon all who wish to ascend the Mount, Jews and Gentiles, in accordance to Jewish law, to gather at the foot of the Mount this morning. The Israeli police have declared the Mount off limits on this day to all but Moslems, citing Arab threats to commit violence as a response to our desire to ascend the Mount to mark this holy day. The police are thereby by preventing us from fulfilling our commitment to G-d and Torah, and from exercising our inalienable rights as citizens of a democratic society.
Once again, following a decades-old pattern, the police have abandoned the task which has been entrusted to them to uphold, and rather than punish the inciters to violence, they have punished the intended victims of the calls to violence.
Nevertheless, the police cannot prevent us from performing the most important and essential task of petitioning the Prime Minister of the State of Israel, and demanding immediate change: Jews and Gentiles must be allowed to pray on the Temple Mount. Today is the day that together we can make our voice heard. Below are the telephone, fax and email contacts for the Prime Minister's office:
Telephone number: 011-972-02-6705555  
Fax number: 011-972-02-5664838  
email address: bnetanyahu@knesset.gov.il
additional email address: PMO.HEB@it.pmo.gov.il
Following is a suggested text:
Dear Prime Minister Netanyahu,  
I am writing to express my deep concern regarding the Temple Mount. As you know, the Temple Mount is the holiest site in the world for the Jewish people, yet the Muslim authorities, aided by Israel Police, systematically deny the right of religious expression on the Mount to all non-Moslems. On numerous occasions the High Court of Justice has upheld the Jewish people’s right to pray at the site, yet the police continue to prevent this. Furthermore, Jewish visitors are harassed and degraded. This discrimination is a grave trampling of civil rights. Israeli law is not recognized by the Wakf authorities; illegal digging has destroyed priceless historical remnants of Jerusalem’s Jewish history.  
Please, end this travesty and allow Jewish freedom of expression at the Temple Mount. I urge you to include the Temple Mount in your “Heritage Plan” of sites significant to the Jewish people.  


Whether you copy and paste this message, or write your own message, please keep your words courteous, respectful and focused on one thing only:
The Prime Minister's office will receive and be strengthened and encouraged by our thousands of messages. We are taking a stand for our futures and our children's futures and making a difference. Together we will perform the task which G-d bequeathed us when we left the Egyptian house of bondage and became free men and women forever.


Click here to learn more about International Temple Mount Awareness Day.  

Today, March 16, 2010, Rabbi Chaim Rubin and Yitzchak Reuven will be presenting a live, two-hour Temple Talk internet radio show direct from the studio at Beit El. Our listeners are encouraged to call in and share with us their thoughts, impressions and insights on this historic day. Join us!  
3:00 - 5:00 PM Israel Time. 8:00 - 10:00 AM Eastern; 7:00 - 9:00 Central; 6:00 - 8:00 Mountain; 5:00 - 7:00 Pacific: 4:00 - 6:00 Alaska; 3:00 - 5:00 Hawaii
US & Canada: 1-800-270-4288
Israel: 1-800-270-428
England: 00-800-3-700-7000
Elsewhere: +972-2-997-2425
To send an instant message:AOL: INR18; Yahoo: inr18; MSN: INR18; ICQ: 191965205


Blessings from the holy city of Jerusalem,
  Yitzchak Reuven & Rabbi Chaim Richman
  The Temple Institute

No comments: